encouragement

The Fruit of Gentleness

gentle-are-strong

Though it falls second to last on the list of fruits of the spirit, Gentleness is not a fruit to be taken lightly. While it is couched in meekness and calmness, it is nothing less than powerful!

When released appropriately, the fruit of Gentleness has the power to: turn away wrath, restore a brother or a sister overcome by sin, bring forth greatness in a person, bear with a sister or a brother in love, redirect steps, show people the way, and identifies the one from whom it flows as a child of the King.

Given all of these great results, why then do we struggle to consistently allow this fruit to freely flow from our lives? For many of us gentleness is not our default. Perhaps we weren’t raised in a gentle household, or we’re immersed in an environment that is anything but gentle, and in order to survive we’ve had to learn to respond in a way they can hear us.

Whatever the reason, and whatever the struggle, know that the Holy Spirit living inside of us has already blessed you and me with this precious and yet powerful fruit of the spirit, but it is up to us to discipline our flesh so that it can flow through us.

The next time you are in a pinch and are betwixt and between lashing out or responding with words of Gentleness, may I encourage you to pause, say a prayer, and allow the Spirit to have its way. Let’s pray:

Dear Lord,

Today I come to You thanking and praising You for the spirit of Gentleness. Father, I thank You for the Gentleness You have given me throughout my life, and I pray that Your Holy Spirit living in me would allow me to do the same for another.

Forgive me for times when I have responded in ways that have been contrary to Gentleness. Lord, please help me to unlearn and turn away from responding in hostility, anger, frustration, shortness, and sarcasm, and turn toward responding in the spirit of Gentleness. Holy Spirit, I pray Your help in practicing this powerful fruit of the spirit so that it becomes my default response to all I interact with.

Thank You for the spirit of Gentleness. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

With Much Love,

Dana

Copyright 2017 Dana Frelix

 

Leave a comment